With the inclement weather forecast for most of the country for the weekend, the regretful but necessary decision has been taken to postpone Sunday’s Woodie’s DIY Novice & Juvenile Cross Country Championships at Tullamore.

Athletics Ireland would like to apologise to all athletes and supporters for any inconvenience caused.

A new date for the Championships will be considered over the weekend and an amnended date for the event will be set for January 2011. The specific date will be made known as soon as possible.

Athletics Ireland

This coming Sunday is the National Novice Championships of Ireland, taking place at Charleville in Tullamore. The race is a significant step up from those earlier in the year with a large field in both the mens and womens races. Last year our athletes had to fight hard to get into the top 50 in the womens and top 100 in the mens. A top 10 finish for the men and top 5 for the womens is a good target.

A positive this year is that the race will be easier to get to this year after the long drive to Coleraine last year.  There may also be less runners as it’s so close to Christmas. With many runners having lost out on some training over the past few weeks it’s going to be an interesting race.

Whilst missing a few experienced runners on the mens side the team will be bolstered by Sean Wall making a return, moving up to senior level. With the womens team running really well this year the club will have both a strong womens and mens team taking part on Sunday.

Changing, Parking & Presentation in Tullamore Harriers. Race times and teams below. Travel arrangements will be discussed at training this coming Thursday. More details from  AAI here.

Novice Women 3,000m 14.45

Novice Men 6,000m 15.00

Novice Women 3,000m 14.45Novice Men 6,000m 15.0

Changing, Parking & Presentation in Tullamore Harriers. A course map has now been posted.

Ladies Team

Mairead O’Callagahan
Susan McDonnell
Ciara Foster (Dublin Team)
Cathriena Higgins
Ruth Kelly
Orla Jordan
Louise Nolan
Emma Fitzpatrick

Mens Team

Michael Cunningham
Paul Duffy
Gareth Murran
Liam McFadden
Sean Wall
Colm Bolger
Karole Cronin
Kieran Lynch
Packie Enright