When did you join Sportsworld?

April 2016

Where do you work?

I am a secondary school English teacher working in Palmerstown.

What is your favourite club session?

I always enjoy the fartlek lap and the Ballyboden lap. Anything long and steady is enjoyable.

What is your favourite race distance?

My favourite race distance is definitely 10km or a half marathon. I’d take one of those any day over a 5km. I try to train for both short and long distances but I don’t love the intensity that comes with the shorter stuff.

What is your favourite meal before a big race?


My Favourite place to train

Phoenix Park for sure but I also enjoy running the Blueway which runs along the river Suir between Clonmel and Carrick-on-Suir . It’s very scenic and beautiful in the summertime.

My husband, David, who’s also in the club, and I always look forward to the Dunboyne 5 mile in May every year as it signifies the end of the school year and the beginning of our holidays. We’ve always had amazing weather too.

What is your target for the next year?

I would love to work on my half marathon time. Just before the lockdown I had run my best ever half. I’d love to go under 95 minutes.

What international events have you ran?

David and I both ran our first ever marathon in Rotterdam in 2017 and then we ran the Prague marathon the following year.

I lived in England for a few years and briefly ran with the Reading Road Runners. I completed the Reading Half Marathon twice, finishing with a lap in the Madjeski Stadium. That was a pretty cool experience.

I am originally from Canada and I’ve run countless track, cross country and road races in Ontario; I suppose that’s international. My first 5km I ran at the end of a snow storm in -10 degrees Celsius. It’s wasn’t unusual to be wearing under armour and a hoodie (my poor mother and sister had it worse as they had to stand in the cold; my dad was running too) I can’t say I miss that weather.

Where’s the most interesting place you have run?

People from home (outside of Toronto) would say Ireland as North Americans love it here. I would have to agree, I try not to forget how lucky I am to be living here.

Apart from Ireland, I’d have to say Cottage Country in Canada as it is very beautiful. I have very fond memories of running lakeside with my sister. The lakes, the sun, the heat, the mosquitos, the dirt roads and the oversized ice cream cones at the finish line are always a winner. As long as you make a lot of noise while you’re running you won’t have to worry too much about the bears.

Where’s the most interesting place you’ve been?      (Doesn’t have to be running related)      

I will never forget mine and David’s trip to Kenya in 2014. We did safari in the Masai Mara and visited Hell’s Gate National Park (which provided the inspiration for Pride Rock in The Lion King).

What do you like doing when you don’t run? (hobbies/past times)

I love reading and talking about reading. I love going to the theatre (surprise, English teacher!). I love jigsaw puzzles and I love long walks. I’m kind of boring but I’m okay with that.

How/When did you start your adventure with running?

I won a lot of races in primary school so my parents signed me up for a running club (my choice over soccer) when I was 11. I’ve never really stopped.

Tell us about your PB’s / What is your biggest achievement?

Dublin Marathon, 2019 –   3:47:35

Bohermeen Half Marathon, 2020 –   1:37:49

The K Club 10km, 2019 – 43:16

Tallaght 5km, 2019 – 20:50

What is your biggest non-running related achievement?

Jumping through hoops to be considered a qualified teacher in Ireland. After three years of having to fulfil ‘shortfalls’ with my Canadian degree the Teaching Council finally accepted me.

What motivates you? Running or otherwise

David and my parents (my dad is a runner as well, he competed in the Boston Marathon twice).

What made you join a running club?

Crazy as this might sound, I missed running cross country from when I was a teenager (clearly I had forgotten a few things).

Who is the person in the club who inspires/drives to run better?

Emily and Myles for sure. It’s never the same if they’re not there.

Tell us something that no one in the club knows about you!?

I played ice hockey for many years.

I had my motorcycle licence in Canada. I was a motorbike instructor for seven years (dirtbiking, if you’re familiar). It’s where I developed a love for teaching. I have been driving a motorcycle since I was 9 years old (owned my own Honda 80). It’s not really a sport here and no one seems to know what it is but it was a huge part of my life.